Déchiffrer 2027

FREN

candidate profile

Éric Zemmour

Reconquête. Declared candidacy since 17 September 2026.

No programme released. Positions taken from public statements, words of associates or documents of the candidate’s party, each dated and sourced; last recorded on 18 October 2026.

How well do you really know Éric Zemmour?Quiz: 10 questions on their career, each one sourced.Take the quiz

Proposals

Economic model claimed

Cut spending by at least €140bn a year (Sarah Knafo's plan, which he adopts: civil service, benefits reserved for French nationals, agencies, EU) to cut taxes and charges, « dépenser moins pour taxer moins » [“spend less to tax less”]; end of CSG on earned income and of inheritance tax.

Summary by the editors, without judgement, based on the candidate’s words quoted below. The site validates no economic model. Quotes checked on 15 October 2026.

Announced effects

Effects announced by the candidate, not checked by the editors. They are not added to any amount on the site.

  • Net pay of working people raised by 10% by abolishing the CSG« Une mesure révolutionnaire : la suppression de la CSG sur les revenus d’activité. C’est 10 % de salaire net en plus pour tous les actifs, sans un centime de coût du travail en plus. »

    Translation by the editorsA revolutionary measure: abolishing the CSG on earned income. That means 10% more net pay for all working people, without a single centime more in labour costs.

    Le JDD, entretien sur son livre « Le Casse du siècle », 29 August 2026. Words of Sarah Knafo, MEP, Reconquête. Words of an associate, which do not formally commit the candidate.
    10 % of net pay
  • Nearly €250 a month for an employee on the median wage« Près de 250 euros par mois pour Nicolas, 500 pour son foyer. C’est la plus forte hausse collective de pouvoir d’achat de la Ve République. »

    Translation by the editorsNearly 250 euros a month for Nicolas, 500 for his household. It is the largest collective increase in purchasing power of the Fifth Republic.

    Le JDD, entretien sur son livre « Le Casse du siècle », 29 August 2026. Words of Sarah Knafo, MEP, Reconquête. Words of an associate, which do not formally commit the candidate.
    250 € per month (employee on the median wage)
  • Better effect on the deficit and on growth than the government's budget« Au total, les mesures que je propose baissent les prélèvements obligatoires de 20 milliards et la dépense publique de 80 milliards, alors que le budget Lecornu augmente les prélèvements obligatoires de 40 milliards et la dépense publique de 29 milliards. Mon plan d’urgence présente un meilleur impact à la fois contre le déficit et pour la croissance. »

    Translation by the editorsIn total, the measures I propose lower compulsory levies by 20 billion and public spending by 80 billion, whereas the Lecornu budget raises compulsory levies by 40 billion and public spending by 29 billion. My emergency plan has a better impact both against the deficit and for growth.

    Presse Agence, reprise de la tribune « contre-budget » de Sarah Knafo (contre-budget de Reconquête au PLF 2026), 26 October 2025. Words of Sarah Knafo, MEP, Reconquête. Words of an associate, which do not formally commit the candidate.
    no amount
  • Return of prosperity through the end of inheritance tax and the CVAE (company value-added contribution)« Supprimons les impôts de succession et la CVAE, cet impôt tellement contre-productif, avant de supprimer tous les impôts de production. C’est le meilleur moyen de renouer avec la prospérité. »

    Translation by the editorsLet us abolish inheritance taxes and the CVAE, that so counterproductive tax, before abolishing all production taxes. It is the best way to return to prosperity.

    Presse Agence, reprise de la tribune « contre-budget » de Sarah Knafo (contre-budget de Reconquête au PLF 2026), 26 October 2025. Words of Sarah Knafo, MEP, Reconquête. Words of an associate, which do not formally commit the candidate.
    no amount

Recent interventions4

Recent interviews, op-eds and speeches with programmatic content, by the candidate or by associates. Quotes are copied word for word from the source.

  1. · RTL · interview

    "Il n'entrera pas à Matignon, c'est fini" : sur RTL, Éric Zemmour assure que "Jordan Bardella est en voie de marginalisation au sein du RN"

    Éric Zemmour

    A reform of national education
    « À l'Élysée, je ferais une véritable réforme de l'Éducation nationale »

    Translation by the editorsAt the Élysée, I would carry out a genuine reform of national education

    Quotes checked on 13 October 2026.

  2. · BFMTV, « Face à BFM » · broadcast

    Présidentielle, immigration, voile, Marine Le Pen... Ce qu'il faut retenir de l'interview d'Éric Zemmour sur BFMTV

    Éric Zemmour

    €140bn cut in state spending
    « Nous, avec Sarah Knafo, nous voulons faire 140 milliards d'euros de baisses »

    Translation by the editorsWe, with Sarah Knafo, want to make 140 billion euros of cuts

    Grid lever: Announced savings
    Excise duty on petroleum products cut by a third
    « une réduction d'à peu près 27 centimes »

    Translation by the editorsa reduction of roughly 27 centimes

    Grid lever: Taxes on fuel and energy
    Pensions: gradual introduction of funded pensions
    « On va progressivement mettre de la capitalisation et on va progressivement sortir de la répartition mais je reconnais que ça va prendre très longtemps. »

    Translation by the editorsWe are going to gradually bring in funded pensions and gradually move away from pay-as-you-go, but I acknowledge that it is going to take a very long time.

    Grid lever: Funded share
    Ban on the kippah in the street, in addition to the veil
    « interdire la kippa dans la rue »

    Translation by the editorsban the kippah in the street

    Grid lever: Secularism (laïcité)

    Quotes checked on 13 October 2026.

  3. · RTL (propos tenus sur BFMTV) · broadcast

    "Je serai candidat" : Éric Zemmour confirme qu'il se présentera à la présidentielle 2027 et donne les premières pistes de son programme

    Éric Zemmour

    Expulsion of convicted foreigners
    « Il faut renvoyer tous les délinquants étrangers, même ceux qui ne sont pas en prison »

    Translation by the editorsWe must send back all foreign offenders, even those who are not in prison

    Expulsion of foreigners in an irregular situation and of unemployed foreigners
    « Il faut également renvoyer, c'est une évidence, les clandestins. Il faut également renvoyer les chômeurs de longue durée, et tous ceux qui vivent uniquement des aides sociales »

    Translation by the editorsWe must also send back, it goes without saying, illegal immigrants. We must also send back the long-term unemployed, and all those who live solely on social benefits

    Grid lever: Labour immigration and residence permits

    Quotes checked on 13 October 2026.

  4. · BFMTV (livre « Le casse du siècle », Fayard) · intervention

    Retraite, critique de Marine Le Pen, hommage à Javier Milei... Ce que contient le livre "Le casse du siècle" de Sarah Knafo

    Sarah Knafo, MEP, secretary general of Reconquête Words of an associate of the candidate: they do not formally commit the candidate.

    Cutting public spending to cut taxes
    « dépenser moins pour taxer moins »

    Translation by the editorsspend less to tax less

    Grid lever: Level of public spending
    Civil service headcount
    « La fonction publique comptait 4,6 millions d’agents en 1997, elle en compte 5,9 millions aujourd’hui: 1,3 million de plus en trente ans, quand la population n’a augmenté que de 15%. »

    Translation by the editorsThe civil service had 4.6 million employees in 1997, it has 5.9 million today: 1.3 million more in thirty years, when the population has only grown by 15%.

    Grid lever: Numbers and pay of civil servants
    Imprisonment from the first offence
    « Si cet individu avait été incarcéré six mois dès le premier délit, les quatre suivants n’auraient pas eu lieu »

    Translation by the editorsIf this individual had been imprisoned for six months from the first offence, the next four would not have happened

    Grid lever: Prisons and sentences

    Quotes checked on 13 October 2026.

Campaign

Schedule4

Upcoming

No announced event recorded to date.

The past 60 days

  1. Guest on the morning showRTL · broadcastSource: RTL, 12 October 2026
  2. Guest on « Face à BFM », then debate with Jean-François Copé; announces that he will be a candidate in the presidential electionBFMTV · broadcastSources: BFMTV, 18 September 2026; franceinfo, 17 September 2026
  3. RallyYvelines · rallySource: RTL, 18 September 2026
  4. Visit to the Châlons-en-Champagne fairChâlons-en-Champagne (Marne) · visitSource: BFMTV, 3 September 2026

Schedule as of 23 October 2026. Events that ended more than 60 days ago are no longer shown.

Career and transparency

Career

1 post, 2 occupations

Posts

Occupation

  • until 2021Journalist, columnist at Le Figaro and on CNewsSource: franceinfo, 1 December 2021
  • until 8 September 2021Commentator on the programme « Face à l'info » (CNews), until 8 September 2021 according to his response to the CNCCFP (national commission on campaign accounts and political funding)Source: CNCCFP, 27 January 2023

Transparency

1 campaign account

Declarations to the High Authority for Transparency in Public Life (HATVP)

Nothing recorded to date.

Campaign accounts

  • 14 December 20222022 presidential electionCompte approuvé après réformation ; remboursement forfaitaire réduit de 200 000 euros au titre des irrégularités relevées (concours en nature d'une personne morale, notamment)Translation by the editorsAccount approved after amendment; flat-rate reimbursement reduced by €200,000 on account of the irregularities found (contribution in kind from a legal entity, in particular)Dépenses retenues : 10 826 804 euros ; montant dû par l'État : 7 804 225 euros, dont 200 000 euros déjà versésTranslation by the editorsExpenditure accepted: €10,826,804; amount owed by the State: €7,804,225, of which €200,000 already paidSource: CNCCFP, “Décision du 14 décembre 2022 relative au compte de campagne de M. Eric ZEMMOUR candidat à l'élection du Président de la République des 10 et 24 avril 2022 (Journal officiel du 27 janvier 2023)”, 27 January 2023

Justice

16 cases, 9 of them ongoing

Criminal proceedings in which the person is personally implicated, either ongoing or whose latest decision is less than ten years old, acquittals and dismissals (non-lieux) included. Each step rests on an official decision or statement, or on at least two reference media outlets citing the decision. No mere complaint, no suspicion, no investigative article without a decision.

Interview given to the Italian daily Corriere della Sera (30 October 2014) on Muslims in France

Stage as of 13 October 2026: Acquittal on appeal, 29 November 2018.

Finality not established: we have not been able to establish whether this decision has been appealed, nor the outcome of any appeal. Any person implicated is presumed innocent until their guilt has been established by a final decision (Article 9-1 of the Civil Code; preliminary article of the Code of Criminal Procedure).

Offences concerned: Provocation publique à la discrimination, la haine, la violence à l'égard d'une personne ou d'un groupe de personnes à raison de leur origine ou de leur appartenance ou non appartenance à une ethnie, une nation, une race ou une religion déterminée, selon l'arrêt de la Cour de cassation.

Translation by the editorsPublic incitement to discrimination, hatred or violence against a person or group of persons on account of their origin or their membership or non-membership of a particular ethnic group, nation, race or religion, according to the ruling of the Cour de cassation

  1. · Conviction on appealParis court of appeal, chamber 2-7

    On appeal by the defendant and, for the civil provisions only, by an association that is a civil party, the guilty verdict of the Paris criminal court is upheld. That judgment, delivered on a summons by the public prosecutor, dates from December 2015 according to Europe 1 and Valeurs actuelles, which report a €3,000 fine at first instance.

    Sentence handed down, in the court’s own words: « 3 000 euros d'amende »

    Translation by the editors€3,000 fine

    Sources: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 23 janvier 2018, pourvoi n° 17-80.323”, 23 January 2018; Europe 1, “Éric Zemmour relaxé en appel après des propos polémiques sur les musulmans”, 29 November 2018
  2. · Ruling of the Cour de cassation (Court of Cassation)Cour de cassation, criminal chamber

    The ruling is quashed and annulled in all its provisions: the court of appeal did not establish the defendant's personal involvement in the publication of the daily in France and in its posting online. The case is referred back to the Paris court of appeal, differently composed.

    Sources: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 23 janvier 2018, pourvoi n° 17-80.323”, 23 January 2018; Europe 1, “Éric Zemmour relaxé en appel après des propos polémiques sur les musulmans”, 29 November 2018
  3. · Acquittal on appealParis court of appeal (on remand after cassation)

    Acquittal. According to the presiding judge of the court, quoted by Europe 1 and Valeurs actuelles, « il n'est pas prouvé qu'Éric Zemmour, poursuivi en tant qu'interviewé, savait que ce journal était publié en France » [“it is not proven that Éric Zemmour, prosecuted as the interviewee, knew that this newspaper was published in France”].

    Sources: Europe 1, “Éric Zemmour relaxé en appel après des propos polémiques sur les musulmans”, 29 November 2018; Valeurs actuelles, “Propos sur les musulmans : Eric Zemmour relaxé”, 29 November 2018

Remarks on Islam made on the programme « C à vous » (France 5, 6 September 2016)

Stage as of 13 October 2026: Final decision (conviction), 17 September 2019.

Offences concerned: Provocation à la discrimination, à la haine ou à la violence à l'égard d'une personne ou d'un groupe de personnes à raison de leur origine ou de leur appartenance ou de leur non-appartenance à une ethnie, une nation, une race ou une religion déterminée.

Translation by the editorsIncitement to discrimination, hatred or violence against a person or group of persons on account of their origin or their membership or non-membership of a particular ethnic group, nation, race or religion

  1. · Conviction on appealParis court of appeal, chamber 2-7

    On appeal by the defendant, summoned by the association Coordination des appels pour une paix juste au Proche-Orient, the guilty verdict of the Paris criminal court is partially upheld: guilt found for the fourth and fifth passages prosecuted. According to franceinfo, the €5,000 fine imposed at first instance is reduced on appeal; the date of the judgment is not established by an accepted source.

    Sentence handed down, in the court’s own words: « 3 000 euros d'amende »

    Translation by the editors€3,000 fine

    Sources: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 17 septembre 2019, pourvoi n° 18-85.299”, 17 September 2019; franceinfo, “La Cour européenne des droits de l'homme déboute Eric Zemmour, qui contestait une condamnation pour des propos visant les musulmans”, 20 December 2022
  2. · Final decisionCour de cassation, criminal chamber

    Appeal to the Cour de cassation dismissed: the conviction becomes final.

    Sentence handed down, in the court’s own words: « 3 000 euros d'amende »

    Translation by the editors€3,000 fine

    Sources: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 17 septembre 2019, pourvoi n° 18-85.299”, 17 September 2019; franceinfo, “La Cour européenne des droits de l'homme déboute Eric Zemmour, qui contestait une condamnation pour des propos visant les musulmans”, 20 December 2022

Remarks targeting a panellist during the public recording of the programme « Les Terriens du dimanche » (C8, 13 September 2018)

Stage as of 13 October 2026: Final decision (conviction), 2 September 2025.

Offences concerned: Injure publique à raison de l'origine, l'ethnie, la nation, la race ou la religion.

Translation by the editorsPublic insult on grounds of origin, ethnicity, nation, race or religion

  1. · Referral to the trial courtInvestigating judge

    Referral to the criminal court on the charge of public insult, on the complaint with civil-party petition filed on 22 October 2018; the charge of incitement to discrimination, hatred and violence had been declared inadmissible on 20 December 2019.

    Source: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 2 septembre 2025, pourvoi n° 24-82.963 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 2 September 2025
  2. · Conviction at first instanceParis criminal court

    Found guilty; the plea of nullity based on the unconstitutionality of Article 51-1 of the law of 29 July 1881 is rejected. According to franceinfo, the remarks had been made during the public recording of the programme, and the passage had been cut in editing.

    Sentence handed down, in the court’s own words: « 4 000 euros d'amende »

    Translation by the editors€4,000 fine

    Sources: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 2 septembre 2025, pourvoi n° 24-82.963 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 2 September 2025; franceinfo, “Eric Zemmour condamné à 4 000 euros d'amende pour injure raciste envers Hapsatou Sy”, 12 January 2023
  3. · Conviction on appealParis court of appeal, chamber 2-7

    Judgment upheld, on appeal by the defendant and the public prosecutor's office.

    Sentence handed down, in the court’s own words: « 4 000 euros d'amende »

    Translation by the editors€4,000 fine

    Sources: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 2 septembre 2025, pourvoi n° 24-82.963 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 2 September 2025; franceinfo, “Confirmation en appel de la condamnation d'Eric Zemmour pour injure raciste envers Hapsatou Sy”, 28 March 2024
  4. · Final decisionCour de cassation, criminal chamber

    Appeal to the Cour de cassation dismissed: the conviction becomes final.

    Sentence handed down, in the court’s own words: « 4 000 euros d'amende »

    Translation by the editors€4,000 fine

    Source: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 2 septembre 2025, pourvoi n° 24-82.963 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 2 September 2025

Speech at the « Convention de la droite » (Paris, 28 September 2019)

Stage as of 13 October 2026: Final decision (conviction), 16 September 2025.

Offences concerned: Provocation publique à la haine ou à la violence et injure publique, à raison de l'origine, de l'ethnie, la nation, la race ou la religion.

Translation by the editorsPublic incitement to hatred or violence and public insult, on grounds of origin, ethnicity, nation, race or religion

  1. · Conviction at first instanceParis criminal court

    Found guilty of both offences, on a summons by the public prosecutor.

    Sentence handed down, in the court’s own words: « 10 000 euros d'amende, ordonné la diffusion et la publication d'un communiqué judiciaire à titre de peines complémentaires »

    Translation by the editors€10,000 fine, ordered the broadcasting and publication of a judicial notice as additional penalties

    Sources: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 21 février 2023, pourvoi n° 21-86.068 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 21 February 2023; Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 16 septembre 2025, pourvoi n° 24-81.809 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 16 September 2025; franceinfo, “La Cour de cassation annule une relaxe d'Eric Zemmour, qui sera rejugé pour injures publiques et provocation à la haine raciale”, 21 February 2023
  2. · Acquittal on appealParis court of appeal, chamber 2-7

    Judgment overturned: acquittal on both charges. The prosecutor general and associations that are civil parties lodge an appeal to the Cour de cassation.

    Source: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 21 février 2023, pourvoi n° 21-86.068 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 21 February 2023
  3. · Ruling of the Cour de cassation (Court of Cassation)Cour de cassation, criminal chamber

    The acquittal ruling is quashed and annulled in all its provisions; the case is referred back to the Paris court of appeal, differently composed.

    Sources: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 21 février 2023, pourvoi n° 21-86.068 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 21 February 2023; franceinfo, “La Cour de cassation annule une relaxe d'Eric Zemmour, qui sera rejugé pour injures publiques et provocation à la haine raciale”, 21 February 2023
  4. · Conviction on appealParis court of appeal, chamber 2-7 (on remand after cassation)

    Judgment upheld as to guilt; fine increased to €15,000.

    Sentence handed down, in the court’s own words: « 15 000 euros d'amende »

    Translation by the editors€15,000 fine

    Sources: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 16 septembre 2025, pourvoi n° 24-81.809 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 16 September 2025; franceinfo, “Éric Zemmour définitivement condamné pour des propos racistes en 2019”, 17 September 2025
  5. · Final decisionCour de cassation, criminal chamber

    Appeal to the Cour de cassation dismissed: the conviction becomes final.

    Sentence handed down, in the court’s own words: « 15 000 euros d'amende »

    Translation by the editors€15,000 fine

    Sources: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 16 septembre 2025, pourvoi n° 24-81.809 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 16 September 2025; franceinfo, “Éric Zemmour définitivement condamné pour des propos racistes en 2019”, 17 September 2025

Remarks on Philippe Pétain on the programme « Face à l'info » (CNews, 21 October 2019)

Stage as of 13 October 2026: Conviction on appeal, 2 April 2025.

Finality not established: we have not been able to establish whether this decision has been appealed, nor the outcome of any appeal. Any person implicated is presumed innocent until their guilt has been established by a final decision (Article 9-1 of the Civil Code; preliminary article of the Code of Criminal Procedure).

Offences concerned: Contestation de l'existence de crime contre l'humanité.

Translation by the editorsDisputing the existence of a crime against humanity

Means of appeal: Éric Zemmour announced on 2 April 2025 that he would lodge an appeal to the Cour de cassation (franceinfo, RTL). No ruling of the criminal chamber on this appeal had been found in the Cour de cassation database as of 13 October 2026.

  1. · Acquittal at first instanceParis criminal court

    Acquittal.

    Sources: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 5 septembre 2023, pourvoi n° 22-83.959 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 5 September 2023; franceinfo, “Pétain "sauveur" des juifs : la relaxe d'Eric Zemmour confirmée en appel”, 12 May 2022
  2. · Acquittal on appealParis court of appeal, chamber 2-7

    Acquittal upheld; the civil parties' claims are dismissed.

    Sources: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 5 septembre 2023, pourvoi n° 22-83.959 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 5 September 2023; franceinfo, “Pétain "sauveur" des juifs : la relaxe d'Eric Zemmour confirmée en appel”, 12 May 2022
  3. · Ruling of the Cour de cassation (Court of Cassation)Cour de cassation, criminal chamber

    On the appeals of five associations that are civil parties and of the prosecutor general, the acquittal ruling is quashed and annulled in all its provisions; the case is referred back to the Paris court of appeal, differently composed.

    Sources: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 5 septembre 2023, pourvoi n° 22-83.959 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 5 September 2023; franceinfo, “Propos sur Pétain : la Cour de cassation annule la relaxe d'Eric Zemmour, qui sera à nouveau jugé pour contestation de crime contre l'humanité”, 5 September 2023
  4. · Conviction on appealParis court of appeal (on remand after cassation)

    Found guilty. According to franceinfo and RTL, the court sentences him to a €10,000 fine, and to pay one euro in damages and €1,200 in legal costs to each of the five associations that are civil parties. The text of the ruling has not been consulted.

    Sources: franceinfo, “Eric Zemmour condamné à 10 000 euros d'amende pour avoir soutenu que le maréchal Pétain avait sauvé des juifs français”, 2 April 2025; RTL, “Pétain "sauveur" de juifs français : Zemmour condamné à 10.000 euros d'amende”, 2 April 2025; Le JDD, “Pétain et les Juifs : Éric Zemmour condamné à 10 000 euros d’amende pour contestation de crime contre l’humanité”, 2 April 2025

Remarks on medically assisted reproduction (CNews, 15 October 2019)

Stage as of 13 October 2026: Final decision (acquittal), 13 January 2026.

Offences concerned: Poursuivi pour complicité de diffamation publique envers un groupe de personnes à raison de leur orientation sexuelle ; faits requalifiés par le tribunal en injure publique envers un groupe de personnes à raison de leur orientation sexuelle.

Translation by the editorsProsecuted for complicity in public defamation of a group of persons on account of their sexual orientation; offence requalified by the court as public insult of a group of persons on account of their sexual orientation

  1. · Conviction at first instanceParis criminal court

    After requalification, the two defendants (the publication director as principal, Éric Zemmour as accomplice) are sentenced « à des peines d'amende avec sursis » [“to suspended fines”], according to the ruling of the Cour de cassation of 13 January 2026; franceinfo reports a €4,000 fine.

    Sources: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 13 janvier 2026, pourvoi n° 24-86.727 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 13 January 2026; franceinfo, “Eric Zemmour condamné à 4 000 euros d'amende pour injure homophobe”, 28 September 2023
  2. · Acquittal on appealParis court of appeal, chamber 2-7

    Acquittal; the claims of the associations that are civil parties are dismissed.

    Source: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 13 janvier 2026, pourvoi n° 24-86.727 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 13 January 2026
  3. · Final decisionCour de cassation, criminal chamber

    Appeal to the Cour de cassation lodged by the three associations that are civil parties, the sole appellants, dismissed.

    Source: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 13 janvier 2026, pourvoi n° 24-86.727 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 13 January 2026

Remarks targeting an MP on the programme « Face à l'info » (CNews, 31 August 2020)

Stage as of 13 October 2026: Court of appeal ruling (outcome not established), 30 January 2025.

Finality not established: we have not been able to establish whether this decision has been appealed, nor the outcome of any appeal. Any person implicated is presumed innocent until their guilt has been established by a final decision (Article 9-1 of the Civil Code; preliminary article of the Code of Criminal Procedure).

Offences concerned: Complicité de diffamation publique envers un particulier, le directeur de la publication de la chaîne étant poursuivi comme auteur (Cour de cassation, franceinfo)

Translation by the editorsComplicity in public defamation of a private individual, the channel's publication director being prosecuted as principal (Cour de cassation, franceinfo)

  1. · Conviction at first instanceParis criminal court, 17th chamber

    On a summons by the targeted MP, a civil party, the two defendants are acquitted for part of the remarks prosecuted and found guilty for the remainder (Cour de cassation). According to franceinfo, Éric Zemmour is sentenced to a suspended €1,000 fine and ordered to pay €1,000 in damages to the civil party.

    Sources: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 23 juin 2026, pourvoi n° 25-82.192 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 23 June 2026; franceinfo, “Eric Zemmour condamné pour complicité de diffamation à l'encontre de Danièle Obono”, 7 February 2024
  2. · Court of appeal ruling (outcome not established)Paris court of appeal, chamber 2-7

    Ruling delivered on the appeals of the defendants and of the civil party. What the court decided regarding Éric Zemmour is not established by any accepted source. The publication director, sentenced by this ruling to a suspended €1,000 fine, alone lodged an appeal to the Cour de cassation, dismissed on 23 June 2026 (Cour de cassation).

    Source: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 23 juin 2026, pourvoi n° 25-82.192 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 23 June 2026

Remarks on « mineurs isolés » (unaccompanied minors) on the programme « Face à l'info » (CNews, 29 September 2020)

Stage as of 13 October 2026: Final decision (conviction), 2 December 2025.

Offences concerned: Complicité d'injure publique et de provocation publique à la haine ou à la violence envers un groupe de personnes à raison de leur origine ou de leur appartenance ou non-appartenance à une ethnie, une nation, une race ou une religion déterminée.

Translation by the editorsComplicity in public insult and in public incitement to hatred or violence against a group of persons on account of their origin or their membership or non-membership of a particular ethnic group, nation, race or religion

  1. · Referral to the trial courtParis public prosecutor

    Summons before the criminal court, as accomplice; the channel's publication director is summoned as principal offender.

    Source: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 2 décembre 2025, pourvoi n° 24-86.189 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 2 December 2025
  2. · Conviction at first instanceParis criminal court

    Found guilty.

    Sentence handed down, in the court’s own words: « cent jours amende de 100 euros »

    Translation by the editorsone hundred day-fines of €100

    Sources: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 2 décembre 2025, pourvoi n° 24-86.189 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 2 December 2025; franceinfo, “Eric Zemmour condamné à 10 000 euros d'amende pour provocation à la haine après ses propos sur les mineurs isolés”, 17 January 2022
  3. · Conviction on appealParis court of appeal, chamber 2-7

    Judgment upheld, on appeal by the defendants, the public prosecutor's office and the civil parties.

    Sentence handed down, in the court’s own words: « cent jours-amende de 100 euros »

    Translation by the editorsone hundred day-fines of €100

    Source: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 2 décembre 2025, pourvoi n° 24-86.189 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 2 December 2025
  4. · Final decisionCour de cassation, criminal chamber

    Appeals to the Cour de cassation dismissed: the conviction becomes final.

    Sentence handed down, in the court’s own words: « cent jours-amende de 100 euros »

    Translation by the editorsone hundred day-fines of €100

    Sources: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 2 décembre 2025, pourvoi n° 24-86.189 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 2 December 2025; franceinfo, “Eric Zemmour définitivement condamné pour complicité de provocation à la haine, après ses propos sur des mineurs isolés”, 2 December 2025

Remarks on the Institut national d'études démographiques (CNews, 2 April 2021)

Stage as of 13 October 2026: Final decision (conviction), 27 January 2026.

Offences concerned: Complicité de diffamation publique envers une administration publique.

Translation by the editorsComplicity in public defamation of a public administration

  1. · Referral to the trial courtParis criminal court

    Referral to the criminal court by order, following the complaint with civil-party petition filed by the Institut national d'études démographiques (25 June 2021).

    Source: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 27 janvier 2026, pourvoi n° 24-87.310 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 27 January 2026
  2. · Conviction at first instanceParis criminal court

    Found guilty.

    Sentence handed down, in the court’s own words: « une amende de 1 500 euros avec sursis »

    Translation by the editorsa suspended fine of €1,500

    Source: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 27 janvier 2026, pourvoi n° 24-87.310 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 27 January 2026
  3. · Conviction on appealParis court of appeal, chamber 2-7

    Conviction upheld.

    Sentence handed down, in the court’s own words: « 1 500 euros d'amende avec sursis »

    Translation by the editors€1,500 suspended fine

    Source: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 27 janvier 2026, pourvoi n° 24-87.310 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 27 January 2026
  4. · Final decisionCour de cassation, criminal chamber

    Appeals to the Cour de cassation dismissed: the conviction becomes final.

    Sentence handed down, in the court’s own words: « 1 500 euros d'amende avec sursis »

    Translation by the editors€1,500 suspended fine

    Source: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 27 janvier 2026, pourvoi n° 24-87.310 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 27 January 2026

Remarks on Senegalese people made on CNews (13 May 2021 and 25 March 2022)

Stage as of 13 October 2026: Referral to the trial court, 31 May 2024.

Decision not final. Any person implicated is presumed innocent until their guilt has been established by a final decision (Article 9-1 of the Civil Code; preliminary article of the Code of Criminal Procedure).

Offences concerned: Provocation publique à la haine ou à la violence et injure publique en raison de l'origine, l'ethnie, la nation, la race ou la religion (franceinfo, ici)

Translation by the editorsPublic incitement to hatred or violence and public insult on grounds of origin, ethnicity, nation, race or religion (franceinfo, ici)

  1. · Referral to the trial courtParis judicial court (tribunal judiciaire)

    Referral to the Paris criminal court, reported on 31 May 2024 by franceinfo « de source proche du dossier » [“from a source close to the case”]; the date of the referral decision is not specified. No judgment had been found as of 13 October 2026.

    Sources: franceinfo, “Eric Zemmour renvoyé devant le tribunal correctionnel de Paris pour "provocation à la haine ou à la violence" et "injure publique" après des propos sur Cnews”, 31 May 2024; ici (France Bleu), “Eric Zemmour renvoyé devant le tribunal correctionnel pour "provocation à la haine" et "injure publique"”, 31 May 2024

Remarks on immigration and crime on a Public Sénat programme (26 January 2022)

Stage as of 13 October 2026: Acquittal at first instance, 2 July 2025.

Finality not established: we have not been able to establish whether this decision has been appealed, nor the outcome of any appeal. Any person implicated is presumed innocent until their guilt has been established by a final decision (Article 9-1 of the Civil Code; preliminary article of the Code of Criminal Procedure).

Offences concerned: Provocation à la haine en raison de l'origine.

Translation by the editorsIncitement to hatred on grounds of origin

  1. · Acquittal at first instanceParis criminal court, 17th chamber

    Acquittal: according to the court, the remarks « ne répondent pas aux caractéristiques du délit de provocation à la haine » [“do not meet the characteristics of the offence of incitement to hatred”].

    Sources: franceinfo (AFP), “Poursuivi pour provocation à la haine en raison de l'origine, Eric Zemmour est relaxé par le tribunal correctionnel de Paris”, 2 July 2025; Le Monde, “Eric Zemmour relaxé après avoir été poursuivi pour provocation à la haine en raison de l’origine”, 2 July 2025

Remarks comparing suburban towns, including Vitry-sur-Seine, to « l'Afghanistan » [“Afghanistan”] (France Inter, February 2022)

Stage as of 13 October 2026: Appeal ruling on the civil claims only, October 2025.

Finality not established: we have not been able to establish whether this decision has been appealed, nor the outcome of any appeal. Any person implicated is presumed innocent until their guilt has been established by a final decision (Article 9-1 of the Civil Code; preliminary article of the Code of Criminal Procedure).

Offences concerned: Injure publique, sur plainte de la commune de Vitry-sur-Seine (Le Parisien, 20 Minutes)

Translation by the editorsPublic insult, on a complaint by the municipality of Vitry-sur-Seine (Le Parisien, 20 Minutes)

Means of appeal: The municipality announced in November 2025 that it had referred the case to the Cour de cassation (Le Parisien, 20 Minutes). No ruling of the Cour de cassation had been found as of 13 October 2026.

  1. · Acquittal at first instanceParis criminal court

    Acquittal, in February 2024 (day not specified by the sources). According to Le Parisien, the court considered that it was not the municipality as a constituted body that was targeted, but its inhabitants.

    Sources: Le Parisien, “Comparée à l’Afghanistan par Éric Zemmour, Vitry-sur-Seine saisit la Cour de cassation pour obtenir justice”, 17 November 2025; 20 Minutes, “Val-de-Marne : Comparée à l’Afghanistan par Éric Zemmour, une municipalité porte l’affaire en justice”, 18 November 2025
  2. · Appeal ruling on the civil claims onlyParis court of appeal

    On appeal by the municipality, a civil party (no appeal by the prosecution is reported), « la même décision est tombée et Éric Zemmour a été relaxé » [“the same decision came down and Éric Zemmour was acquitted”] (Le Parisien): the municipality's claims are dismissed on appeal, on the civil interests alone. Hearing on 18 June 2025; decision delivered in October 2025 according to Le Parisien (« le mois dernier » [“last month”], article of 17 November 2025). 20 Minutes writes on the one hand that the acquittal dates from « mois dernier » [“last month”], and on the other that the decision was delivered on 18 June 2025.

    Sources: Le Parisien, “Comparée à l’Afghanistan par Éric Zemmour, Vitry-sur-Seine saisit la Cour de cassation pour obtenir justice”, 17 November 2025; 20 Minutes, “Val-de-Marne : Comparée à l’Afghanistan par Éric Zemmour, une municipalité porte l’affaire en justice”, 18 November 2025

Remarks targeting a lawyer, programme « Élysée 2022 » (France 2, 5 April 2022)

Stage as of 13 October 2026: Final decision (conviction), 2 December 2025.

Offences concerned: Diffamation publique envers un particulier.

Translation by the editorsPublic defamation of a private individual

  1. · Referral to the trial courtParis criminal court

    Direct summons before the criminal court by the targeted lawyer, a civil party.

    Source: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 2 décembre 2025, pourvoi n° 24-87.311 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 2 December 2025
  2. · Conviction at first instanceParis criminal court

    Found guilty.

    Sentence handed down, in the court’s own words: « une amende de 1 000 euros »

    Translation by the editorsa fine of €1,000

    Sources: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 2 décembre 2025, pourvoi n° 24-87.311 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 2 December 2025; franceinfo, “Mort de Jérémie Cohen en 2022 : Eric Zemmour condamné à 1 000 euros d'amende pour diffamation”, 18 January 2024
  3. · Conviction on appealParis court of appeal, chamber 2-7

    Judgment upheld, on appeal by the defendant and the civil party.

    Sentence handed down, in the court’s own words: « 1 000 euros d'amende »

    Translation by the editors€1,000 fine

    Source: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 2 décembre 2025, pourvoi n° 24-87.311 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 2 December 2025
  4. · Final decisionCour de cassation, criminal chamber

    Appeal to the Cour de cassation dismissed: the conviction becomes final.

    Sentence handed down, in the court’s own words: « 1 000 euros d'amende »

    Translation by the editors€1,000 fine

    Sources: Cour de cassation, “Cour de cassation, chambre criminelle, 2 décembre 2025, pourvoi n° 24-87.311 (décision pseudonymisée)”, 2 December 2025; franceinfo, “Eric Zemmour définitivement condamné pour complicité de provocation à la haine, après ses propos sur des mineurs isolés”, 2 December 2025

Messages posted on Twitter (X) in October 2022 after the death of a teenage girl in Paris

Stage as of 13 October 2026: Acquittal at first instance, 26 March 2025.

Finality not established: we have not been able to establish whether this decision has been appealed, nor the outcome of any appeal. Any person implicated is presumed innocent until their guilt has been established by a final decision (Article 9-1 of the Civil Code; preliminary article of the Code of Criminal Procedure).

Offences concerned: Qualification des poursuites non précisée par les sources ; le tribunal juge que les propos « ne permettent pas de caractériser une communauté déterminée qui serait visée par les propos discriminatoires ainsi diffusés » (Le Monde, 20 Minutes)

Translation by the editorsLegal characterisation of the charges not specified by the sources; the court holds that the remarks « ne permettent pas de caractériser une communauté déterminée qui serait visée par les propos discriminatoires ainsi diffusés » [“do not make it possible to identify a specific community that would be targeted by the discriminatory remarks thus disseminated”] (Le Monde, 20 Minutes)

  1. · Acquittal at first instanceParis criminal court

    Acquittal, by a judgment separate from the one delivered the same day on the remarks about Crépol.

    Sources: Le Monde, “Eric Zemmour condamné à 9 000 euros d’amende pour injure raciale dans l’affaire de Crépol”, 26 March 2025; 20 Minutes, “Mort de Thomas à Crépol : Éric Zemmour (encore) condamné pour injures raciales”, 26 March 2025

Press releases and messages from November 2022 targeting a teacher from Valenciennes, about a school trip to Calais

Stage as of 13 October 2026: Acquittal at first instance, 9 June 2026.

Finality not established: we have not been able to establish whether this decision has been appealed, nor the outcome of any appeal. Any person implicated is presumed innocent until their guilt has been established by a final decision (Article 9-1 of the Civil Code; preliminary article of the Code of Criminal Procedure).

Offences concerned: Diffamation (France 3 Hauts-de-France, Le Monde)

Translation by the editorsDefamation (France 3 Hauts-de-France, Le Monde)

Means of appeal: The civil party announced the same day its intention to appeal (ici, L'Humanité, France 3 Hauts-de-France). No appeal decision had been found as of 13 October 2026.

  1. · Acquittal at first instanceParis criminal court

    Acquittal of the nine defendants prosecuted, including Éric Zemmour and two elected representatives of the Rassemblement national.

    Sources: ici (France Bleu), “Relaxe générale pour les personnalités poursuivies pour diffamation envers Sophie Djigo”, 9 June 2026; L'Humanité, “Cyberharcèlement d’une enseignante : Zemmour et deux élus RN relaxés, la défense dénonce une justice qui « manque à son devoir de protéger les professeurs »”, 9 June 2026; France 3 Hauts-de-France (franceinfo), “"J'ai peur pour l'avenir du métier d'enseignant" : une professeur de philosophie perd son procès en diffamation contre une dizaine de prévenus dont Éric Zemmour et des élus du RN”, 10 June 2026; Le Monde, “Emoi dans la communauté enseignante après la relaxe d’Eric Zemmour et de responsables du RN, poursuivis pour diffamation par une professeure”, 18 June 2026

Remarks on the death of an upper secondary school pupil in Crépol (Drôme), made on RMC and BFMTV on 30 November 2023

Stage as of 13 October 2026: Conviction at first instance, 26 March 2025.

Finality not established: we have not been able to establish whether this decision has been appealed, nor the outcome of any appeal. Any person implicated is presumed innocent until their guilt has been established by a final decision (Article 9-1 of the Civil Code; preliminary article of the Code of Criminal Procedure).

Offences concerned: Injure raciale (termes du Monde, de BFMTV et de 20 Minutes)

Translation by the editorsRacial insult (terms used by Le Monde, BFMTV and 20 Minutes)

Means of appeal: Éric Zemmour announced on 26 March 2025, in a message posted on X, that he would appeal (Le JDD). No appeal decision had been found as of 13 October 2026.

  1. · Conviction at first instanceParis criminal court

    Found guilty for the remarks contrasting « deux France » [“two Frances”]. According to BFMTV and 20 Minutes, the court « a prononcé une peine de 60 jours amende à 150 euros » [“imposed a penalty of 60 day-fines of 150 euros”]; Le Monde and Le JDD report a total fine of €9,000. According to 20 Minutes, he is acquitted for another passage of the interview.

    Sources: BFMTV, “Éric Zemmour condamné pour injure raciale après des propos sur le drame de Crépol”, 26 March 2025; 20 Minutes, “Mort de Thomas à Crépol : Éric Zemmour (encore) condamné pour injures raciales”, 26 March 2025; Le Monde, “Eric Zemmour condamné à 9 000 euros d’amende pour injure raciale dans l’affaire de Crépol”, 26 March 2025; Le JDD, “«Il est inadmissible que la vérité soit à ce point bâillonnée» : Zemmour fait appel de sa condamnation pour ses propos sur l'affaire Crépol”, 26 March 2025

Sources. Each item links to its own: official documents (National Assembly, European Parliament, Journal officiel, HATVP, CNCCFP, courts), the campaign or party website, reference press. Profile checked on 13 October 2026; schedule as of 23 October 2026. Editorial rules: the method.

Contest or complete this profile (pre-filled form; procedure and deadlines)